You are currently viewing Are gummies Halal or Haram? Know the Truth. 

Are gummies Halal or Haram? Know the Truth. 

In our day-to-day lives, gummies have become significant. Are gummies Halal or Haram?

In this blog post, we are going to see what halal is, how to choose halal gum and other topics related to it.

So let’s see.

What are gummies, and how are they made?

In simple words, sweet candy is made up of a mixture of gelatin, artificial sweetness, and other added flavor ingredients.

Most of the time, gummies are used for mind-refreshing, hair-fall prevention, and sleep enhancement. Most of the gummies are for children and women.

Are gummies halal?

As you discussed above, to prepare a gummy, gelatin is used, and gelatin is nothing but connective tissue found in cows and pigs.

When gelatin is derived from cows, gummies are halal, but when it is derived from pigs, it is haram.

What makes gummies haram?

Here are some reasons why gummies are harmful.

Usage of gelatin: According to Islamic dietary law, eating pork is haram. In most of the gummies, pork is used to achieve a chewy texture, and this makes gummies haram.

However, some gummies use halal gelatin, and we will discuss them in a later part.

Non-halal slaughter: Animals like pigs, cats, dogs, lions, and other predators with canine teeth are strictly prohibited from eating in Islam.

Alcoholic content: Some gummies also contain alcoholic content or extract to enhance the flavor. Consuming alcohol or alcohol-based products is prohibited in Islam.

Cross-contamination: If equipment that is not halal in Islam is used to prepare gummies, that is haram. 

For example, if the machine used to prepare pork-oriented products is the same machine used to prepare gummies, then those gummies are called Haram.

A video on how gummies are prepared 

How to check whether a gummy brand is halal or haram

Look for the label: Before buying gummies, don’t forget to check the halal label from a certified authority.

The halal label shows that the product is prepared under Islamic dietary law and is completely halal.

Ingredient list: Checking the ingredient list is also one way to check whether gummies are haram or halal.

Special attention should be paid to gelatin. If it is there, then try to check the source of gelatin, and if it is not specified, then it’s recommended not to buy it because there are high chance that it is derived from pork.

Contact the manufacturer: If you want to stick to a particular brand, you can contact the manufacturer and ask them about the source of gelatin. This would give you a clear picture of what you’re consuming.

Online sources: Certain websites help you find out whether a particular product is haram or halal.

Consult with religious authority: Contacting religious authority helps us to distinguish between halal and haram products. After researching, if you are still confused about whether those gummies are haram or halal, you can consult with the religious authority.

Note: Before moving ahead, we would like to invite you to our WhatsApp Channel where we share Authentic Health Tips. We are guaranteed that every piece of content on our WhatsApp channel will help you to find solutions to Health Related Issues.

Also Read: Is Yoga Haram in Islam?

Ingredients used in halal gummies 

Here is a list of ingredients used to prepare halal gummies.

Alternative to Gelatin: Most of the time, gelatin is used to prepare gummies, but manufacturers can use a substitute for gelatin. Some alternatives to gelatin are fish gelatin, agar-agar, and carrageenan.

Fruit juices: It has been found that to enhance the flavor of gummies, alcohol extracts are used.

Instead of using alcohol, they can use fruit juices like apple juice, grape juice, or any other citrus fruit juice.

Starch: Starch is one of the agents that is found in plants like corn or potatoes and is used as a thickening agent to prepare gummies.

Starch is completely halal in Islam.

Preservatives: Potassium sorbet and potassium benzoate are some of the halal preservatives used to increase the shelf life of gummies.

Emulsifiers: Emulsifiers are used to blend the ingredients. Lecithin is one of the emulsifiers that is derived from halal sources.

List of the Top 4 Halal Gummies 

Here is a list of halal gummies you can use in your day-to-day life.

1: Albanese Mini Gummy Bears

Sr No. TitleInfo
1Ingredients usedCorn Syrup
Lactic Acid
Natural Flavor
Juice Concentrates
Carnauba Leaf Wax
Vegetable Oil 
Citric Acid
2Our notes:The best thing about these gummies is that they have USDA organic and halal certification. Natural flavor and colors are derived from fruits and vegetables.

2: Flamingo Multivitamin Gummies

Sr No. TitleInfo
1Ingredients usedCane Sugar
Citric Acid
Sodium Citrate
Citrus Pectin
Anthocyanins from Black Carrot Extract for color
Beta Carotene for Color
Natural Strawberry
Pineapple Extract for Flavor
2Our notes:This is the second most recommended question, and halal kami comes with gluten-free and vegan options.

3: Noor Vitamins:

Sr No. TitleInfo
1Ingredients usedVitamin A
Vitamin B6
Vegetable Oil
Natural Flavor
Sodium Citrate
Folic Acid
Natural Color
Vitamin E
Vitamin B12
Carnauba Wax
Vitamin D3
Citric Acid
Evaporated Cane Juice
Tapioca Syrup
Purified Water
Vitamin C
2Our notes:These gummies are FDA-certified and manufactured under strict standards. It also supports blood health, improves immunity, and strengthens bone and tooth health.

4: Zaytun Adult Multivitamin Gummies: 

Sr No. TitleInfo
1Ingredients usedNatural Fruit Flavors
Vitamin B-6
Vitamin D
Vitamin B-12
Vitamin A
Vitamin C
Vitamin E
2Our notes:These vitamins are loaded with vitamins A, C, E, and D. They also provide essential nutrients with antioxidants and support the immune system.


Are gummies Halal?

Yes, Gummies are halal but only if it is derived from halal gelatin sources

Is it halal to eat gummy bears?

Bear gummies made in Turkey are halal. 

Is it OK to eat gelatin in Islam?

Yes, but halal gelatin is allowed in Islam. 

Do gummies have pig gelatin?

Yes, most gummies are prepared with pig gelatin.

Conclusion: Are gummies Halal or Haram?

Usually, it’s a myth that all gummies are haram. The key ingredient in prepared gummies is gelatin. Gelatin is not the tissue of pigs, and consuming it is prohibited in Islam.

Certain gummies are prepared with gelatin derived from halal sources like cows. 

We have also provided a list of 5 vitamin gummies that are safe and halal.

I think you’ve enjoyed this blog post. Thanks for reading.

[email protected]

Hello, fitness freaks! I am Saif, a professional Taekwondo athlete and black belt holder (Dan 1). I started my athletic career in 2018 and had 5 years of experience as a martial artist. My expertise is to provide advice on nutrition, rest, recovery, a balanced diet, injury prevention, and other aspects of mind-body connection.

Leave a Reply